Cinco poemas de Brandon Smith (poeta norteamericano joven)

14.01.2011 20:40

 

Publicamos, a continuación, cinco poemas del poeta Brandon Smith, de 24 años, natural de Norht Carolina, USA. Estos poemas están siendo traducidos al castellano y su traducción aparecerá en esta misma sección en pocos días.  Para culaquier comunicación con el poeta, su email es: idunnopoetry@gmail.com

 

Scars

Skin is thin and unbroken,
Like words of hate, left unspoken,
Until the blade of conflict cuts,
The skin that spreads, as opened up.

The blood flows out like crimson streams,
Surrounds and drowns the strongest screams,
Until the river Red runs dry,
All else is left alone to die.

The wound, it slowly closes up,
And mends until it closes shut,
It hides the pain it felt before,
But waits for pain that's left in store.

Scars appear where wounds once healed,
And still reveal where holes were sealed,
Remind of times of massive loss,
When losing canceled out the cost.

The only thing prolonging pain,
Are memories inside the brain,
That if erased, would put to rest,
Reminders of the pain that's left.


Same

I'm staring at before
And now for sake of grief
I'm lying to myself
And playing make-believe
Pretending what we were
Was more than what it was
And though I may embellish it
It matters not, because...

The painting's still the same
No matter how I frame it
The object's what it is
No matter what I name it
And history stands firm
I cannot re-arrange it
The past will stay the same
And I can never change it

I'm staring at our end
Back to when we finished it
I lie about the pain
Hoping to diminish it
Pretending that it hurts
A lot less than it does
And though I minimize it
It matters not, because...

The painting's still the same
No matter how I frame it
The object's what it is
No matter what I name it
And history stands firm
I cannot re-arrange it
The past will stay the same
And I can never change it

And time will come and go
With no way to re-gain it
The past is still the past
However I explain it
Pretend it's something else
And try so hard to feign it
But the past is still the same
And I can never change it

 

Seeds of Love

Weave me dreams I can't conceive
But leave the seams so I'll believe
And understand all in this land
Was planned and formed by Dancing Hands

That all expanse of plants and trees
Were planted so I'd glance and see
Remind each time I pant and breathe
For answers that You've answered me

This cancer is a chance to see
That even ants, You grant their needs
So when I guess You can't for me
The Seeds of Love You plant for me

 

 

Rainy Seasons

We were together just a season
Still, effects have lasted years
And we never find a reason
When our Fates decide to veer
From where we thought we just might go
We find we've ended up right here
And though we stooped to quite a low
We never had the slightest fear

For nothing's ever really over
Happy is never the end
Good and Bad times fight each other;
Neither one shall ever win
We will receive from life that which
We choose to purposefully send
'Cause sometimes wounds might need a stitch
If there be hope that they will mend

And when complete, it will begin
And then we'll start it all anew
And like a circle or a spin
We'll find our path is nothing new
For we traversed this way before
And swore we never more would do
'Cause nothing's worse than when it pours
But ask the grass how much it grew

Without the moisture of the rain
How can we ever hope to grow?
Sometimes it takes a bit of pain
Before you truly know you know
So if you ever reach a place
You're set, expecting where you'll go
Then be prepared to have to face
The swiftest shifting of the Flow

 

Anagogic (Positive Vibes)

My heart doesn't beat at the same frequency, you see
Cause for me it beats a sweet heavenly melody
That is free to them that see peace and ease
Instead of tragedy
Who see good instead of the bad they had to see
Who stay glad, not mad
By saying can't and flee
Whose answers see
The expanse of dreams
And what there's chance to be

Cause if you can't believe
Then you can't receive
And can't conceive
Of your prayer's answering

So can't you see
That there's no can't for me?
No chance I'll flee
Just straight advance
I'm free

To take this key
And re-shape what I will be
If I agree
With positivity